I like Manholes Covers. Always have. They are like a portal to a secret world where only a few fortunate souls are granted access to see what lies below. They are also unsung heroes of artful infrastructure in the sense that, by virtue of being on the ground below you,

few people stop and take the time to appreciate these fine specimens. They are truly, secretive art. Silently, they add a subtle nuance to an otherwise redundant streetscape. Everywhere I go, I find manhole covers that are artful and unique and nowhere is that more true than in Japan !

I was pleasantly surprised to see how colorful and decorative the covers were and even snapped a few photos of these specimens of beauty as I walked through Tokyo. What follows is just a few of the treasures that lie at your feet.

  
  
  

